The Family Trap Wins Romantic Comedy Award

Happy Monday everyone! I’m back after my break (or my so-called break) and ready to blog all week long!

The first bit of brilliant news I have for you this week is that The Family Trap WON the Romantic Comedy category in the SpaSpa Awards :) I was amazed to be longlisted, elated to be shortlisted, and absolutely gobsmacked to be chosen as the winner!

2013 Self-Published and Small Press Awards

 

winner

Even more amazing is that TFT was also voted the third best book of 2013 overall in the Awards. Here are Rosen Trevithick’s comments: “Sequels, by nature, tend to do less well than series openers. Therefore it takes an exceptional second book to win a category and make the top three books overall.” I know that the SpaSpa Awards are fairly small-scale (at the moment), but Rosen says, “The short-listing and voting processes were long and involved, so nobody has won an award by accident.”

top 3 SpaSpa

Well, a competition is a competition and I won a prize so I’m on cloud nine! And to come third to two such incredible authors as David Wailing and Rachel Abbott is just fantastic.

Of course, this has been a great couple of months for The Family Trap, coming as it does after the BookBub promotion which saw my sequel to Can’t Live Without hitting all sorts of bestseller charts – at the time of writing, TFT is still riding high in the charts, at #5 in parenting and family humor in the US and at #6 in the UK.  Here is a lovely snip from a couple of weeks ago, seeing both books in the top 3 …

TFT & CLW top 3and here’s one showing all three of my romantic comedies competing for position :)

3 in top 10 humour

Lovely :) Right, so I’m off to get started on my next book now! Actually, I already started – and almost finished – it some time ago, but there is still a lot of work to do, so you’ll have to wait a while for news of that one. And Flora Lively fans don’t despair – there is some exciting news coming about the series in a couple of weeks.

Tomorrow I’ll be bringing you photos from my book signing last weekend, along with a report about the launch, including facts & figures and the usual forensic examination of what went on.

Bye for now x

 

8 Comments

Filed under The Family Trap

8 responses to “The Family Trap Wins Romantic Comedy Award

  1. Fab news, Joanne! Absolutely brilliant. Well done. :-)

  2. Wonderful news,Jo. Congratulations on the win!

  3. Terry Tyler

    Jolly well done! I was longlisted for the anthology section with Nine Lives, but that was as far as I got. Congratulations! x

  4. Congratulations on winning! You’re a great writer and it’s well deserved. X

  5. Congratulations – what a wonderful achievement! And I look forward to hearing more about your next projects…

Over to you ...

