I set myself a ridiculous target of entering five short story competitions this month – ridiculous not only because I’m not all that familiar with short stories, but also because I have had zero time to work on them!

I managed to get my entry in for the Fish Flash Fiction prize, but that was only 300 words. (Still took a lot of crafting, though!) My next deadline is the Mslexia Women’s short story comp, and I am in a right old pickle…

I had a good idea – or rather, I had a character and a situation spring into my mind one day – so I began to make notes and wrote the first couple of scenes. Then I read it back.

Help me! It’s rubbish. I have no idea who the protagonist even is, or what he/she is doing (that’s right – main narrative POV is gender-free right now). I have no idea how it’s going to end, and I’ve got until Sunday – tomorrow – night to finish this blasted story. Not helped by the fact that I’ve been indexing GCSE Law for the past week and my brain is fried, and we’re on a family day out tomorrow – and it’s mother’s day on Sunday so I won’t be able to slip away and fret…

Maybe I’ll have to let this competition slip by. Is it better to submit something – anything – or to wait until next time? What do you think?

