Today on the blog we have a guest post by the super-talented author Samantha March, who is talking about her self-publishing journey. Take it away Samantha …

My journey to being published was an interesting one. From the day that I decided I was really going to give this author thing a shot to the day I got published, a lot of changes were made. When I first starting taking my writing seriously, my plan was to write a stand-out book, query some agents, snag the best, and then find a successful publisher to make me a successful author. When I finished the first draft of my debut, Destined to Fail, the recession was hitting the US hard and a lot of things were starting to change in the publishing industry. When I was finally done with all the edits and rewrites for Destined, even more had changed. Self-publishing and eBooks were on their way to becoming the new norm, and traditional publishing was nearing the side of impossible. I didn’t know what to do. Continue my original plan of querying and hoping to find a publisher? Or take matters into my own hands and keep up with the changing times?

I decided I needed to at least give querying agents a shot. I will say that my heart was not into it, and I had pretty much decided I was going to publish on my own. But I wrote a query letter, researched agents, and sent three letters out. Three rejection letters later, I knew that I didn’t want to keep trying. My mind was made up even before I drafted that query letter.

With that decision, I also knew I wanted to take it a step further. I have an entrepreneurial spirit, and I created my own publishing company, Marching Ink, and my debut novel Destined to Fail was published in October 2010. In August 2012, Marching Ink released Breaking the Rules, the debut novel from Canadian author Cat Lavoie. And now in December 2012, my second women’s fiction novel The Green Ticket will be released by Marching Ink. I never thought my publishing journey would include building my own business, but I am extremely happy, grateful, and thrilled for the path I embarked on.

Samantha March is an author, editor, publisher, blogger, and all around book lover. She runs the popular book/women’s lifestyle blog ChickLitPlus, which keeps her bookshelf stocked with the latest reads and up to date on all things health, fitness, fashion, and celebrity related. In 2011 she launched her independent publishing company Marching Ink and her debut novel Destined to Fail. When she isn’t reading, writing, or blogging, you can find her cheering for the Green Bay Packers.

http://www.samanthamarch.com/
Facebook
Twitter
GoodReads

Links to buy The Green Ticket:

Amazon: Print or eBook
Barnes and Noble: eBook
Kobo: eBook
Marching Ink: Print

