It’s finally here – the official launch of Murder at the Maples. I hope you’ll forgive me for taking this moment to make my one and only direct sales pitch of the day – I would love for you to BUY MY BOOK ๐Ÿ˜‰ and here is the link. All you have to do is click …

Murder at the Maples

Okay, so now that’s out of the way let’s have some fun!

Join in the Twitter conversation – all day I’ll be chatting about Murder at the Maples on Twitter, using the hashtag #FloraLively. Please join in at any time, ask a question, share tweets and links, and watch out for a video later of me reading out the first chapter!

Mug

Time for our first competition of the day – your chance to win an exclusive Murder at the Maples mug! Only 2 of these have been produced, so I’ll have one and you can win the other one by solving this puzzle – an exercise in lateral thinking, as suggested by Debbie Young. So, Flora Lively is our new amateur sleuth and to test her skills – and yours – here is a puzzle to be solved:

Acting on an anonymous phone call, the police raid a house to arrest a suspected murderer. They don’t know what he looks like but they know his name is John and that he is inside the house. The police bust in on a carpenter, a lorry driver, a mechanic and a fireman all playing poker. Without hesitation or communication of any kind, they immediately arrest the fireman. How do they know they’ve got their man?

I love this one! I’m going to give two clues: 1) the police only know 2 facts, that his name is John and that he is inside this house, and 2) there is a reason this particular puzzle appeals to me ๐Ÿ˜‰

You’ve got until 8:00 pm this evening to enter, and if more than one person comes up with the right answer I’ll pick the winner out of a hat – or a mug! Don’t forget you can post your answers here or on the Facebook event page. Good luck guys!

If you’re a really fast reader and you’d like to leave a review of Murder at the Maples already, here are the links to make it really easy (or real easy, as Marshall would say):

Review on Amazon
Rate or review on Goodreads

