Last Saturday I had the opportunity to hold a book signing at Shrewsbury library. I was so excited about this – many readers know that when I worked in libraries in my twenties I longed to see my books on the shelves. So now not only do I have my books available for borrowing on the library shelves, there I was giving an actual real life signing!

Shrewsbury library is also a key location in Murder at the Maples, and the book is set in and around the town. I think it helps gain local attention if your book has a strong local link – this was something I couldn’t capitalize on with my first two novels as I had already moved away from Milton Keynes.

I arrived with no idea what to expect, pulling my trolley-bag (memories of being an air hostess here!) behind me. I took 14 books – this was a little bit optimistic 😉 The table was slap-bang in the middle of the library’s large reception area, which made me want to run screaming as soon as I saw it. I was expecting to be shoved in a corner somewhere, not right in the middle where no one could ignore me – much as they tried to!

20131005_103758

Soon I’d set up my stall and was ready to start selling books and engaging with readers. A very lovely member of staff came over and bought a copy (thanks Caroline!), and then a really nice chap chatted with me for a while about writing and took home a bookmark. I looked at the clock. One hour and fifty minutes to go! Bring it on, I thought.

My next visitor was a nine year old girl whose mother dumped her in reception (‘Go and talk to that lady’). We chatted for a while, until her mum came back to collect her, and then I waited again. And waited. And waited.

20131005_103945

Well, in the end I sold and signed 3 books, chatted to some potential readers and met fellow author Susan Davis who lives locally and is really, really lovely. Susan is also an editor and tutor for The Writers Workshop, and I was chuffed to bits to connect with her. So even though I didn’t sell tons of books, I was visible, I made a new friend, and I fulfilled a dream long held. Not bad for a day’s work.

Would I do it again? Honestly? If Shrewsbury library extend an invitation then I definitely would, because they have been so supportive and it’s a great, vibrant place to be. But I won’t be chasing down library events anywhere else. For that matter, I won’t be planning any events for a while, anywhere. I’m a bit worn out with them, in fact, and I think my time might be better spent marketing my books online – and (clears throat) writing some more books … 🙂

In other news – Today sees my great big face on not one but two brilliant blogs: I’m guesting over on Cathy Bramley’s blog as part of her ‘What It Takes To’ series, check that out here, and it’s also day 5 of my book tour and a review of Murder at the Maples will be appearing on Shelley’s Book Case very soon.

And here’s the rest of the tour!

great escape tour banner small MURDER AT THE MAPLES

Tomorrow – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book review and guest post
October 14 –  Queen of All She Reads review and guest post
October 15 – Chloe Gets A Clue exclusive interview
October 16 – rantin’ ravin’ and reading review and guest post
October 17 – Brooke Blogs review and exclusive interview
October 18 – StoreyBook Reviews review
October 20 – A Chick Who Reads review
October 21 – THE SELF-TAUGHT COOK review
October 22 – Dru’s Book Musings guest post as Flora Lively herself!

