I’m getting really excited this week – because on Friday Nano starts! I’ve never participated in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) before, although it’s been on my radar for YEARS! Why have I never done it? The usual reasons: too busy, fear of failure, didn’t think it was possible/a good idea/safe for your sanity to write a book in a month. Well, the general consensus is that NaNo time is a great opportunity to knock out a first draft, or maybe just the first 50,000 words of a first draft.

The Rules (click here to go to the official NaNo website)

Write 50,000 words in the month of November to ‘win’ at NaNo. Simply sign up, log your word count as you go, and take part in optional regional or online events designed to keep you motivated. Oh, and write! That’s kind of the point …

So, what am I going to be writing? Good question, as there are many projects I could begin, or use this opportunity to advance. The most pressing of these is the novel I am writing (should be writing) for my Masters. Come January we’ll be ‘workshopping’ this novel, or parts of it at least, and as of today I have nothing on paper except lots of ideas. But there’s also that new chick lit novel I’ve been plotting on and off all year, and the next Flora Lively book … All I can say is, come back on Friday for Day 1 of NaNoWriMo and all will be revealed. I’ll be logging my word count every Friday on the blog from then on, and getting involved with all sorts of NaNo activities during November. I hope you’ll join in and share your journey with me.

NaNo snip
Check back on Friday to find out which novel I’ve decided to work on …
