A couple of weeks ago I received these lovely photos from Victoria Thornley at Newport Pagnell library, Milton Keynes. Victoria had the brilliant idea of putting together a display of books written by local authors. Not only are Can’t Live Without and The Family Trap featured in Victoria’s display, but she’s also put up a news clipping about me – this was from MK News and had the headline “Novel celebrates vibrant city vibe”

2014-04-17 14.10.20

Even though I don’t live locally anymore, Milton Keynes was my home for many years, and as the setting for my first two novels it has come alive for readers who have never visited the town. I’m so excited to be part of this display, and photos of it are being shown at all of the Milton Keynes libraries. Way to go, Victoria!

2014-04-17 14.09.04

I’m in good company here – clearly MK has a lot of writing talent. Carole Matthews famously got her big break after penning her first novel, Let’s Meet on Platform 8, which was partly set in MK, and as far as I know, Carole still lives just outside of Milton Keynes.

The new town still continues to influence my writing from afar – my new novel, Cupid’s Way, is based on a street in New Bradwell, one of the older parts of Milton Keynes. You can read more about Spencer Street here, and watch out for more news of Cupid’s Way – including the cover reveal – coming soon.

 

 

