September has become a bit of a tricky month for me in recent years. I think it’s being a mum, as well as an author, and it all began when my daughter started school. September gives me the sense of time passing, the chance to review and consider what I’ve been doing and where I’m going. It’s often a difficult month, with teething problems at school and at home, while we all try our best to get back into the swing of normal life after a long break. This summer the break was even longer than usual – seven weeks! – and for the first time ever, I didn’t work at all during the holidays. That of course means there are stacks of emails to catch up with, reviews to write, blogs to plan, and many other jobs to get on top of. And all at a time when I’m feeling a little sore and lonely sitting here at my desk without the joy and laughter of my daughter to distract me …

One fantastic thing happening this month, though, is ‘Romancing September‘. This is a lovely idea from Rosie Amber, bringing together romance authors from across the world, and you can find the list of authors and blogs by clicking the picture below.

2015-cover

Cupid’s Way will be featured on day 19, which is very exciting, but the best thing for me has been finding out about all these other brilliant books. My favourite so far is Nicky Wells’ 7 Years Bad Sex – what an awesome title! Nicky is such a talented author, and I have a backlog of books to catch up on from her alone!

So, am I feeling the love this September? Well, yes I am. With supportive bloggers and fellow authors, with lovely messages like the one below on Facebook this summer, I do feel lucky to be doing what I’m doing and to be where I am as an author. But there have been disappointments too recently – more on that coming up in the following weeks – and they have knocked my confidence a little. It’s wonderful to be back on the blog – my spiritual home on the Internet – and I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of things this week and catching up on all your news too 🙂

FB comment

Thanks Joan, you really gave me a lift this summer!

Coming soon …

Review of Jan Ruth’s brilliant book Silver Rain

Report from the Festival of Writing 2015

News of my next book release

Self-publishing advice and more

