Yesterday we had Jan Ruth on the blog, talking about her indie journey of snakes and ladders; today you can read my review of Silver Rain – the book that prompted me to contact Jan and invite her to share her story with you. Thanks to Rosie Amber and Jan for providing me with a copy to review.

Silver Rain

Blurb: “Alastair Black has revealed a secret to his wife in a last ditch attempt to save his marriage. A return to his childhood family home at Chathill Farm is his only respite, although he is far from welcomed back by brother George. Kate, recently widowed and increasingly put upon by her daughter, sister, and mother, feels her life is over at fifty – until she meets Alastair. He’s everything she isn’t, but he’s a troubled soul with a dark past. When his famous mother leaves an unexpected inheritance, Kate is caught up in the unravelling of his life as Al comes to terms with who he really is.”

My review: I picked up Silver Rain primarily because I know Jan Ruth is a talented author, but I have to confess I hadn’t read the above blurb before I started reading. And now, having read the book, I’m not sure it does it justice. This is an absolutely stunning read. And that is a level of praise I reserve for only the very best books.

First of all you have the main characters, Al and Kate, both of whom positively jump off the page and grab you by the hand, demanding you come along with them on their respective journeys. The writing is beautiful and evocative, but never dull; the plot is tight and paced just right; the dialogue is so believable you almost forget you are reading fiction and not merely listening to conversations. I loved Al, he is a flawed character – flawed in all the right ways, the interesting ways – and from the outset I was rooting for him. Kate is so identifiable, complex and conflicted – the perfect foil for Al.

The story – gripping and satisfying all the way – plays out against the backdrop of a beautiful but unforgiving landscape, one that is always present but never takes over from the characters. What is so outstanding about Jan Ruth’s writing, however, is the depth of emotion contained within these pages. Every single character, even walk-on parts, seemed real to me. Every twist and turn of events, while surprising, felt natural and right for the story. As an author myself I felt humbled reading this book, and also glad that Jan has so many other books for me to get my hands on. Highly recommended – 5 stars. (If I could give it 6 stars I would!)

Buying links:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Silver-Rain-Jan-Ruth-ebook/dp/B00WU5B8G8

http://www.amazon.com/Silver-Rain-Jan-Ruth-ebook/dp/B00WU5B8G8

5 out of 5 stars

Member of Rosie Amber’s book review team

rosies-book-review-team-1

