Keeping Sam finally went off to the proofreader today, after many, many edits and sleepless nights, and I finally emerged from a mound of paper and looked around. There was my seven-year-old daughter glaring at me balefully from her midden of a bedroom; there was my poor neglected husband (who had a car crash last week – barely registering a flicker on my radar, so immersed was I in the world of Keeping Sam). There were messages from my friends on Facebook and Twitter who I have been neglecting so badly lately, and countless emails I’ve failed to answer, some of them dating back to September. I’m so ashamed!!! My face is burning even as I type this. You know who you are – that is, if you haven’t already turned your back on me for being so crap at keeping in touch, keeping up, keeping things going, and so you’re not even reading this blog post anyway because you’ve already gone over to the dark side …

Well, the good news is, I’ve cleared the decks and I’m catching up, albeit slowly. It’s half term this week, and the lovely little girl who has been creating havoc in that bedroom of hers deserves a bit of attention first. I’ll be answering emails, writing some planned blog posts, and getting sorted with all my commitments. If I’ve promised to do something for you and you haven’t heard from me in the next two weeks then please get in touch to give me a nudge – I’ll be eternally grateful, and not cross in the least. Meanwhile, hands up who’s looking forward to seeing the new cover designs next week? Is that only my hand? Well, I’ve got both hands up so that’s okay then 🙂

